Registered or Premium Member? LOG IN  |  Not a Premium Member? TRY PREMIUM FREE NOW 
SURF NEWS Team Billabong wins Surf 24 at daylong event in Huntington Beach
June 21, 2010
Tweet this page
We've all dreamt about busting out the floodlights and surfing well into the night. But perhaps only Surf City USA could deliver such a feat - on International Surfing Day nonetheless.
After a remarkable twenty-four hours of surfing that began at noon on Saturday, went the through the night and ended on International Surfing Day on Sunday at noon, Team Billabong emerged as the first champions of Surf 24 in Huntington Beach.

In Surf 24, competing teams had to put a team member in the water every hour, on the hour, to post a single best score that accumulated toward their overall twenty-four scores.
Previous       1 of 15       Next
Cody Thompson, blasting one under the lights of the HB Pier sometime around midnight en route to Team Billabong's victory at Surf 24. Photo: Tom Cozad
As luck would have it, the final result went down to the last heat as Team Firewire applied the pressure in the overnight hours under the floodlit Huntington Beach pier with Surf 24 MVP Jesse Heilmann posting the event's single highest score of 9.83.

However, Team Billabong -- with a deep team that included their star juniors, ISA World Junior Champion Keana Asing and former PacSun USA Surf Team members Cody and Evan Thompson -- proved to be too strong after the final tally.

There were also specialty hours of which competitors were allocated to participating teams by hat draw. On Saturday, Hollywood met surfing during the Celebrity Hour as author Norman Ollestad of "Crazy for the Storm" fame (a New York Times bestseller) posted the single highest score - a 9.00 - to be the first Celebrity Champion of Surf 24.

Other Hollywood celebrities that competed included John Slattery of "Mad Men", Sam Trammell of "True Blood", Pat Parnell from Fuel TV, Eric Balfour of "24" and John "Turtle" Philbin of "North Shore" fame.

In the Surf Celebrities division, former World Champions Tom Curren and Shaun Tomson, Hawaiian legend Buttons Kaluhiokalani, current US Open of Surfing Women's Champion Courtney Conlogue and professional skater/surfer Tosh Townend all put on great displays.

On Sunday, in the SUP Hour, the World Paddle Association (WPA) provided California's best stand-up paddle surfers who were also allocated to the competing teams from a hat draw. Chuck Patterson won with a 8.66 to become the first "SUP Champion of Surf 24."

The team champions and individual champions were presented with gold Nixon watch engraved "Champion of Surf 24".

Surf 24, an event of Project Save Our Surf (PSOS), raised $50,000 through the event's fundraising efforts to benefit Surfrider Foundation, Heal the Bay and Inside the Outdoors.

Surf 24 Results
Champion: Team Billabong 179.01*
Runner-up: Team Firewire 169.47

(* the total of 24 scores out of a maximum 10 point scoring system, one per hour)

The "Recreational Team Champion of Surf 24"
Team Eco Warriors 112.45

The "MVP of Surf 24"
Jesse Heilmann/Team Firewire 9.83 (Single best score)

The "SUP Champion of Surf 24"
Chuck Patterson/Team Eco Warriors 8.66 (Single best score)

The "Celebrity Champion of Surf 24"
Norman Ollestad/Team Christian Surfers 9.00 (Single best score)